MINUTES Hawaii Writers Guild **Annual Meeting**

January 30, 2018

Rev. 1

Hawaii Writers Guild (HWG) Annual Membership Meeting Held at Anna Ranch

Officers and Directors of the Guild present:

Eliza Cahill – President, Bruce Stern – Vice President, Diane Revell – Secretary, Duncan Dempster - Treasurer and Website Officer, Joy Fisher - Public Relations Director, Cece Johansen – Events Director, Eila Algood – North Kohala Director

Others Present:

A total of 29 members including the seven Board members listed and 11 guests of the members attended for a total of 40.

This was the first annual membership meeting of the Hawaii Writers Guild since its inception in early in 2017. To celebrate the Guild's success to date, the meeting included a dinner to allow members to meet each other and commune over a meal. Members were encouraged to bring items they had written and had published to show the breadth of the styles. These were placed for viewing on a wall of bookshelves in the main room.

Individuals arriving were provided with name tags and a list of February Events related to the Guild by Joy Fisher as they came in. In another area Diane staffed the voting table, so those members who had not previously voted on the officers for 2018 could hand in ballots or collect one to fill in and hand in later in the evening to Diane.

Eila Algood acted as emcee for our dinner meeting after all were seated around 6:30pm. President Eliza Cahill called the meeting to order. She welcomed the members and their guests, provided an overview of the Guild's mission, accomplishments in this past year, and outlined the plans for this coming year. The Board members present were introduced and each of the officers in the four elected positions provided a personal introduction of their role in the Guild and a bit about themselves. A last call for ballots was issued at 7:20pm near the end of the main meal of antipasto dishes.

The votes were counted (while dessert was served), first by the Secretary, Diane Revell, and then counted as a double check by PR Director, Joy Fisher. There were a few write-in votes, but the slate of candidates on the ballot were voted in with 25 members voting. The results were announced: Eliza Cahill – *President*, Bruce Stern – *Vice President*, Diane Revell – *Secretary*, Bob Lupo – *Treasurer*. A toast to the results was offered. The meeting was over around 7:50pm and many stayed to help with the clean-up.

Respectfully submitted, Diane Revell, Secretary