MINUTES Hawaii Writers Guild January 18, 2020 Rev.1 Annual Meeting

Hawaii Writers Guild (HWG) Annual Membership Meeting Held at Anna Ranch

Officers and Directors of the Guild present:

Diann Wilson – President, Bruce Stern – Vice President, Bob Lupo – Treasurer, Duncan Dempster Webmaster, Joy Fisher – Public Relations Director, Louise Riofrio – Events Director, Eila Algood—North Kohala Director

Others Present:

A total of 30 members including the seven Board members listed and 17 guests of the members attended for a total of 47.

This was the third annual membership meeting of the Hawaii Writers Guild since its inception in early 2017. To celebrate the Guild's success to date, the meeting included a dinner to allow members to meet each other and commune over a meal. Members were encouraged to bring books and articles they had written and had published to show the breadth of the styles. These were placed for viewing on a wall of bookshelves in the main room. The agenda for the meeting is provided as Attachment 1.

Individuals arriving were provided with name tags as they came in. Jim Gibbons staffed the voting area, so those members who had not previously voted on the officers for 2020 could take a ballot to fill in and place in the ballot box. The statement from each of the candidates previously e-mailed was also available for reference if needed.

President Diann Wilson called the meeting to order. She welcomed the members and their guests, provided an overview of the Guild's many accomplishments in this past year with details provided by other Board members and those in the general membership. Vice President Bruce Stern announced that, with the help of our attorney Shawn Nakoa, the Guild has submitted its application to be recognized by the federal government as a tax-exempt nonprofit organization under IRS Code section 501(c)(3). This recognition will enable the Guild to accept tax-free donations and apply for grants to expand its activities. Government certification is expected in the near future. See more details on the accomplishments raised and other annual meeting events on our website's Guild News for the Annual Meeting: https://www.hawaiiwritersguild.com/guild-news.html.

A last call for ballots was issued at 7:20pm. At 7:30pm Joy Fisher acted as emcee for short presentations by seven members present at the meeting who published books in 2019: Amy Elizabeth Gordon, Duncan Dempster, Peter Georgas, Steven Foster, Linda Petrucelli, Jada Rufo and Donna Maltz. There were five other authors for 2019 that Joy knew of who were not at our meeting: Dale Belvin, Greer Woodward, Mark Kelly, Donna Beumler, and Wendy Wilson. When Joy asked of those at the meeting who had published in 2019 not previously mentioned, four hands went up that included Bryant Ching, Mark Brown and Nancy Baenziger.

The results of the election were announced: Diann Wilson – *President*, Bruce Stern – *Vice President*, Diane Revell – *Secretary*, Bob Lupo – *Treasurer* that reinstated the 2019 officers for 2020 with a toast that followed celebrating the success of the past year. The meeting was over around 8:20pm and many stayed to help with the clean-up before the deadline to leave.

Respectfully submitted, Diane Revell, Secretary

Attachement1: 2020 Annual Meeting Agenda

HAWAII WRITERS GUILD

Third Annual Dinner Meeting

January 18, 2020



6:30	Welcome by President Diann Wilson
	-Introduction of Board Members
	-Annual Report
	-Voting Instructions
6:45	Buffet Line Open and Ballot Box Available
7:20	Clear Tables; Last Chance to Vote
7:30	Introduction of Members who Published in 2019
	-Votes Tallied
8:30	Announcement of 2020 Officers
	-Toast and Closing
	-Clean Up
9:00	Close Up
	I I I I I
	19-199