## MINUTES Hawaii Writers Guild January 1 Annual Meeting with Bank Signa

## January 19, 2019, Rev.2

with Bank Signature List attachment

Hawaii Writers Guild (HWG) Annual Membership Meeting Held at Anna Ranch

Officers and Directors of the Guild present:

Bruce Stern – Vice President, Diane Revell – Secretary, Bob Lupo – Treasurer, Duncan Dempster Webmaster, Joy Fisher – Public Relations Director, Cece Johansen – Events Director

Others Present:

A total of 26 members including the six Board members listed and 11 guests of the members attended for a total of 37.

This was the second annual membership meeting of the Hawaii Writers Guild since its inception in early 2017. To celebrate the Guild's success to date, the meeting included a dinner to allow members to meet each other and commune over a meal. Members were encouraged to bring books and articles they had written and had published to show the breadth of the styles. These were placed for viewing on a wall of bookshelves in the main room.

Individuals arriving were provided with name tags by Joy Fisher as they came in. At the same table Diane Revell staffed the voting area, so those members who had not previously voted on the officers for 2019 could take a ballot to fill in and place in the ballot box. The statement from each of the candidates previously e-mailed was also available for reference if needed.

Vice President Bruce Stern called the meeting to order. He welcomed the members and their guests, provided an overview of the Guild's mission, the many accomplishments in this past year, and outlined the plans for this coming year. The Board members present were introduced, and thanks provided to those who worked to make the annual event happened with special thanks to Cece Johansen and Joy Fisher. The buffet was opened at the end of Bruce's statements.

A last call for ballots was issued at 7:20pm. At 7:30pm Joy Fisher acted as emcee for presentations by five members who published books in 2018: Dave Fouts, Bruce Stern, Sam Cudney, Dr. Heather Rivera, and Louise Riofrio. Each author read from their book and/or explained their process to get their book published. During this time the ballots were tallied by the Secretary, Diane Revell. There were 27 total ballots submitted including the seven submitted early via e-mail or mail. Each position other than Vice President only had one candidate listed, but there were three candidates for Vice President. Every candidate received some votes and there was one write-in vote for President. The results were announced: Diann Wilson – *President*, Bruce Stern – *Vice President*, Diane Revell – *Secretary*, Bob Lupo – *Treasurer*. Congratulations were provided to the new and returning officers. The meeting was over around 8:20pm and many stayed to help with the clean-up for the 9:00pm deadline to leave.

Respectfully submitted, Diane Revell, Secretary

	2018	2018	2019	2019
#	Name	Officer/Director Title	Name	Officer/Director Title
1	Elizabeth Ann Cahill	President	Diann Wilson	President
2	Robert E. Lupo	Treasurer	Robert E. Lupo	Treasurer
3	Bruce A. Stern	Vice President	Bruce A. Stern	Vice President
4	Diane B. Revell	Secretary	Diane B. Revell	Secretary
5	Duncan Dempster	Webmaster	Duncan Dempster	Webmaster

Here is the table of those with bank account signature authority for our account at Hawaii Community Federal Credit Union.

Note that this January 2019 revision is based on the results of the January  $19^{th}$  Annual Meeting election results. The election resulted in a change in the person holding the office of President which is now Diann Wilson. – Diane B. Revell, Secretary, Hawaii Writers Guild